The Barriault Research Group

Home » Students


Martin Hébert @ Ph.D

Originally from Moncton, NB, and recently completing his MSc. with Prof. Alexandre Gagnon (UQAM) on triarylbismuthines as cross-coupling reagents, Martin is now starting his Ph.D conducting research in natural product total synthesis.

Huy Tran @ Ph.D

As an Ottawa native, Huy completed his BSc. in Biomedical Sciences – Medicinal Chemistry and is currently working on applying Gold(I) Lewis acid catalysis to total synthesis of salvinorin A. Since first joining the group, he has worked on gold catalyzed photoredox chemistry, and has also previously completed internships at Theravance Biopharma and Cytokinetics in South San Francisco. When not in the lab, Huy enjoys eating all types of food then subsequently sleeping.

Montserrat Zidan @ Ph.D

Montserrat (aka. Montse) recently completed her B.Sc in Chemistry, and is now doing an Ph.D., working on organic methodology with gold photoredox catalysis. Originally from Mexico City, Mexico, in her spare time she enjoys making Mexican food, drinking coffee and teaching people about the proper toppings to put on a taco.

Andre Costisella @ Ph. D

Andre completed his BSc. in chemistry and is now doing his Ph.D. He is working the total synthesis of penestatin F. In his spare time he enjoys watching basketball, going to the gym, and life guarding.

Avery Morris @ Ph. D

Avery is from Kenmore, ON, colloquially known to locals and surrounding villages as the town where cows roam free. He is currently doing his M.Sc. in photoredox chemistry. In his spare time, Avery is a HAT enthusiast and likes to listen to Black Keys.

Jason Crema @ Ph. D

Originally a Toronto native, Jason completed his B.Sc. in chemistry at Bishop’s University. He is currently doing a Ph.D and is currently working on the synthesis of quassinoid type structures by applying Gold(I)-catalyzed cyclizations. In his spare time he enjoys family life, construction projects and golfing.

Victor Alves Borba @ Ph. D

Victor is currently in his PhD, developing a divergent total synthesis of the neoclerodane natural product family. When he is not in the lab, Victor can be found singing metal, performing piano, and playing Old School RuneScape.

Tegan O’Brien @ Ph. D

Since completing her B.Sc. in Chemistry at the ANU in her hometown of Canberra, Australia, Tegan has joined the group to work on her Ph.D. in synthetic methodology using gold photoredox catalysis. When not in the lab, she enjoys visiting her friends’ cats and exploring Ottawa.

Kiara Britto @ BSc. Biomedical Science

Patrick Ferrari @ BSc. Biochemistry

Past Students

Ph. D.

Julie Brousseau, 2015-2020, Transport Canada
Phillipe McGee, 2012-2018, IntelliSyn RD, Scientist
Terry McCallum, 2013-2018, Lin group @ Cornell
Mathieu Morin, 2012-2017, Sherburn group @ ANU Canberra
Gabriel Bellavance, 2011-2016, Nicolaou group @ Rice University
Boubacar Sow, 2009-2013, Paraza Pharma, Scientist
Francis Barabe, 2007-2013, Shenvi group @ Scripps Research Institute
Jason Poulin, 2007-2012, Transport Canada
David Lapointe, 2006-2012, Sarpong Group @ UC Berkeley, post-doc
Christiane Grisé, 2004-2009, Merck (Montreal), research associate
Steve Arns, 2003-2008, SFU (Vanvouver), post-doc (Bob Young)
Maxime Riou, 2003-2008, ANU (Canberra), post-doc (Mick Sherburn)
Rachel Beingessner, 2003-2007, NRC-NINT (Edmonton), research associate
Effiette Sauer, 2002-2007, U of Toronto (Toronto), lecturer
Louis Morency, 2002-2006, Boehringer Ingelheim (Laval), research associate
Jeff Warrington, 2001-2005, Cytokinetic (San Francisco), Scientist
Irina Denossiva, 1999-2004, Aegera (Montreal), research associate


Samantha Rohe, 2017-2019 Canadian Bank Note Company, research scientist (Ottawa)
Alyson Poyser, 2018-2019, Transport Canada (Ottawa)
Stéphanie Lanoix, 2013-2015, NuChem, research Associate (Montreal)
Travis Schwantje, 2010-2012, Gilead Sciences, research associate (Montreal)
Joel Marcotte, 2010-2012, Engineering School (Ottawa)
Patrick Levesque, 2010-2012, Law School (Ottawa)
Daniel Newbury, 2010-2012
Genevieve Betournay, 2010-2012
Kassandra Lepack, 2009-2011, Theravance (San Francisco), research associate
Anik Chartrand, 2008-2010, CIHR (Ottawa)
Eric Beaulieu, 2007-2009, Boehringer Ingelheim (Laval), research associate
Marie-Christine Brochu, 2007-2009, Merck (Montreal), research associate
Mélina Girardin, 2005-2007, Merck (Montreal), research associate
Nathalie Goulet, 2004-2006, College teacher (Montreal)
Roch Lavigne, 2004-2006, High School teacher (Ottawa)
Roxanne Clément, 2003-2005, CCRI (Ottawa), research associate
Julie Farand, 2002-2004, Gilead (San Francisco), research Associate
Danny Gauvreau, 2001-2003, Merck (Montreal), research associate
Ross MacLean, 2001-2003, High School teacher (Ontario)
Jermaine Thomas, 2000-2002, Pfizer (Groton), research associate
Daniel Deon, 1999-2001, IRIC (Montreal), research associate


Amandine Xolin, 2015-2016, Paraza Pharma (Montreal), Scientist
Laurie-Anne Juanno, 2014-2015, post-doc (Fabien Gagosz, University of Ottawa)
Alex Cannillo, 2014-2015, (Research Associate, Université de Grenoble)
Guillaume Revol, 2011-2012, Omega Chem. (Quebec), research associate
Minaruzzaman, 2007-2008, Torcan (Toronto), research associate
Gerardo Ullibarri, 2004-2005, Laurentian University, assistant professor

Undergraduate Students

Weldon Blastorah, Victor Alves Borba, Avery Morris, Alyson Poyser, Rowan Swann, Samantha Rohe, Montse Zidan, Alexandra Lacoste, Andre Costisella, Huy Tran, Lea Thai-Savard, Julie Brousseau, Michael Forberg, Marina Sanita, Sherif Kaldas, Anika Tarasewicz, Ekaterina Slavko, Terry McCallum, Mathieu Morin, Jeff Warington, Roxanne Clément, Valérie Charbonneau, Julie Farand, Nathalie Goulet, Lise-Anne Prescott, Maude Boulanger, Jennifer Racine, Anik Chartrand, Roch Lavigne, Christiane Grisé, Jean-François Vincent- Rocan, Gabriel Bellavance, Laetitia Mistico, Joel Marcotte, Patrick Levesque, Marie-Eve Lebrun, Eric Rodrigue, Eric Beaulieu, Olivier Gagné, Denis Guigère, Daniel Newbury, Geneviève Bétournay, Krystyna Herasym, Mylène de Lésèleuc, Josée-Lynne Éthier, Anna Chkrebtii, Catherine Séguin, Anne-Catherine Bédard, Véronique Laberge